This blog post showcases the work that I have completed during the 4th week of the extended project.

WEEK 4: [2.1]

TASK 1:

For this task I am to conduct a literature review looking back at what useful skills, techniques and knowledge that could be useful to this extended project, I will also be including some possible secoundary research sources that will be useful for my extended project as well. This will be categorised thematically.

Literature Review.

What have I previously learnt?

My extended project is that of character designs in the form of concept art aimed for a 3rd person open world sandbox action role playing game. The intention of the project however is to explore the character design and drawing principles/skills.

To summarise what I already know about the subject is that I have decent but limited knowledge on various principles already such as anatomy, use of colour, line, tone, shade, light and others however I could improve a lot more and that is the purpose of the project.

I have also previously created some characters already, however I don’t have access to that work as of now so I already know a little about how to structure characters and make them feel realistic yet also extreme in some cases.

This research is the starting point of my ideas and it will bolster the quality of designing a good set of characters for the final product.

I will be looking at a range of media formats for my research such as existing work of others, books, articles, online videos, journals and many more.

I will be categorising this Literature review into different qualities that will be important for my final project and the quality of the final project.

Literature Review:

          Formal Elements (Art):

The following research sources will teach me more about the formal elements such as line, shape and colour which if I improve at using the formal elements the overall quality of the art and characters that I produce will dramatically increase.

-Drawing basics and video game art is a book about the drawing basics as well as video game art as the name suggests, if I read through some parts of this book I can learn more about the formal elements as mentioned above, this will greatly improve my work if I do so.

Manga University has an article about how to draw clothing more on characters, despite it being for manga it can still translate over to concept art and a 3D game, this will be especially helpful when drawing the clothing for my characters and will improve the final result. This will also include the use of the formal elements when drawing clothing.

Brush Boost is a Youtube channel that teaches people different skills relating to the art industry and more specifically video game art ranging from character design to 3D modelling. There are various video’s on this channel such as videos of character concept art meant for production of which I can take notes from and put that into my own project which will improve the quality and result of the project.

Draw with Jazza is a YouTube channel that teaches people about art and animation, I will be looking at the video’s going through the character designs and the process around it which will drastically improve my work flow and produce better results.

Keinan Lafferty has a Youtube Channel that teaches people about art in the games industry as well as a hobby, he has various video’s that teach about specific techniques and process that would improve my art, I plan to be taking notes and doing studies which will help me with my project by improving my work flow, increasing my skills as well as improving my art.

          Narrative:

The following research sources will teach me more about the narrative that I use for my character designs, such as showcasing the characters, the layout of the page, the portrayal of themes, motifs and genre as well as the context behind my work which will improve the quality of my work and give it purpose rather than just being a drawing.

Drawing basics and video game art is a book about the drawing basics as well as video game art as the name suggests, if I read through some parts of this book I can learn more about the narrative points as mentioned above, doing this will greatly improve my work.

Mirror’s Edge is a game I want to look at for inspiration on fashion, technology and style because it closely fits with the style, genre and theme of my characters I think I can take inspiration from it drastically improving the final result for my project.

Frederic Dauost is a 3D modeller for video games, he’s worked on titles such as Mass effect Andromeda and Deus Ex: Mankind divided, its particular his work on prosthetic limbs that I’m interested in for my characters and the theme that goes with them, drastically improving the quality result of the project.

Gary is an Artist who produced some of the concept art from Remember me, the clothing and technology from this game interests me and I can take some inspiration from the work he did for this game, solidifying that style I’m going for.

The Matrix films have a style of fashion that I could get inspired from, although I’m not too fond of the films style and fashion I still think I can take at least something in terms of inspiration from those films to further solidify the style that I’m going for with this project.

Writers Write have a post that goes into detail about writing for characters, this will help me develop my characters to make them feel more real and make audiences connect easier with the character.

Now Novel has an article detailing how to make character backstories feel real, this will help me have a deeper understanding for my characters and make them better-rounded, it will also help audiences get a better connection and understanding for the character.

This Wikipedia page has a list of super powers found within fiction, this could help me get a better understanding of the super power that my characters could be wielding overall making the character more attached to reality yet also still being fictional.

Kill bill is a film I’m aiming to analyse due to a character called Gogo Yobari [the main bodyguard of O-Ren Ishii]. Who is a strong female character in a strong role but she’s is also a school girl, If I end up creating a female character I am keen to model her of strong female characters from films such as this one improving the character overall.

I found an interesting article on Film forever that talks about what we could be wearing in the future if classic science films like blade runner got it right, this will help with the fashion that my characters wear boosted their appealing looks with what I have learnt.

The film Blade runner can give some inspiration for the fashion and technology that my characters could have, I was going to use the 2017 remake as well however it is not released until the 6th of October 2017 which will be after this project will be compete. However using Blade runner as a reference will help my character fit the theme of science fiction much better.

There is an article on Omed that details the history, current and future use of prosthetic limbs and the technology related to them, this might help me create realistic prosthetic limbs for the characters I aim to create.

Resources

The following research sources will teach me about the resources that I will be using such as the hardware, software and tools that I will be using, it will teach me how to use the resources effectively as well which could also improve my work.

Drawing basics and video game art is a book about the drawing basics as well as video game art as the name suggests, If I read through some parts of this book I can learn more about the tools that the art departments use within the games industry I can learn more about what resources I could or should be using.

Brush Boost is a Youtube channel that teaches people different skills relating to the art industry and more specifically video game art ranging from character design to 3D modelling. There are various video’s on this channel such as videos of character concept art meant for production of which I can take notes from and put that into my own project which will improve the quality and result of the project.

Draw with Jazza is a YouTube channel that teaches people about art and animation, I will be looking at the video’s detailing using adobe PhotoShop and graphics tablets as well as traditional tools, thus improving my work.

Keinan Lafferty has a Youtube Channel that teaches people about art in the games industry as well as a hobby, he has various video’s that give tips on using different art tools specifically adobe PhotoShop and graphics tablets, This may come in useful If I decide to use a graphics tablet for my project.

Processes and Techniques:

The following research sources will teach me about the processes and techniques that I can conduct in order to create my project such as the process and techniques used when creating a character from a simple thumbnail sketch for example, Knowing the process better will greater improve my work as well as making the journey of creating the characters a lot smoother and simpler reducing the time that I spend stuck trying to come up with something to do.

Drawing basics and video game art is a book about the drawing basics as well as video game art as the name suggests, if I read through some parts of this book I can learn more about the processes and techniques that video game artists use I can modulate my work to follow those to improve my work.

The Production process of creating characters is a video by Josiah brooks on his Youtube channel Draw with Jazza that gives a run down on his process when creating characters, I personally quite like this method and will likely use it. Following this process will help my work flow when creating these characters.

Creative Bloq have an article going through a process of creating Science fiction weaponry which is essential for my characters since they all will be wielding a weapon of some kind and if I learn this process then that will drastically improve the outcome of my work.

Brush Boost is a Youtube channel that teaches people different skills relating to the art industry and more specifically video game art ranging from character design to 3D modelling. There are various video’s on this channel such as videos of character concept art meant for production of which I can take notes from and put that into my own project which will improve the quality and result of the project.

Draw with Jazza is a YouTube channel that teaches people about art and animation, I will be looking at the video’s going through the character designs and the process around it which will drastically improve my work flow and produce better results.

Keinan Lafferty has a Youtube Channel that teaches people about art in the games industry as well as a hobby, he has various video’s that teach about specific techniques and process that would improve my art, I plan to be taking notes and doing studies which will help me with my project by improving my work flow, increasing my skills as well as improving my art.

          Design:

The research sources here will help me come up with better ideas for my characters improving the quality of those characters. I will be looking at different subjects with these research sources, some examples are as follows; Fashion, Weapons, Technology, Hairstyles, References/Inspiration and many other topics.

Drawing basics and video game art is a book about the drawing basics as well as video game art as the name suggests, if I read through some parts of this book I can learn more about the design elements in video games which will improve my work.

Character Design at Disney: The Jin Kim Interview (Kim, Unknown), is a podcast that I can listen to where two former Disney animator’s interview Jin Kim another ex-Disney animator, Listening to this podcast may help me make better decisions when designing my characters.

Manga University has an article about how to draw clothing on characters, despite it being for manga it can still translate over to concept art and a 3D game, this will be especially helpful when drawing the clothing for my characters and will improve the final result.

Mirror’s Edge is a game I want to look at for inspiration on fashion, technology and style because it closely fits the style of my project that I am aiming for. Observing the art of the game I can get a better idea of what I want for the characters designs which will improve the final result.

Frederic Dauost is a 3D modeller for video games, he’s worked on titles such as Mass effect Andromeda and Deus Ex: Mankind divided, its particular his work on prosthetic limbs that I’m interested in for my characters, I can study these designs and get inspiration to have better prosthetics on some of my characters as a result.

Gary is an Artist who produced some of the concept art from Remember me, the clothing and technology from this game interests me and I can take some inspiration from the work he did for this game, solidifying that style I’m going for.

The Matrix films have a style of fashion that I could get inspired from, although I’m not too fond of the films style and fashion I still think I can take at least something in terms of inspiration from those films to further solidify the style that I’m going for with this project.

Creative Bloq have an article going through a process of creating Science fiction weaponry which is essential for my characters since they all will be wielding a weapon of some kind and if I learn this process then that will drastically improve the outcome of my work. This post also gives some tips which will help me design the weapons for these characters.

Nameberry is a website that is primarily meant for finding names for babies, however I can use it to find names for my characters making them seem more real and allowing for the audience to connect to the character more easily.

Writers Write have a post that goes into detail about writing for characters, this will help me develop my characters to make them feel more real and make audiences connect easier with the character.

Now Novel has an article detailing how to make character backstories feel real, this will help me have a deeper understanding for my characters and make them better-rounded, it will also help audiences get a better connection and understanding for the character.

This Wikipedia page has a list of super powers found within fiction, this could help me get a better understanding of the super power that my characters could be wielding overall making the character more attached to reality yet also still being fictional.

This Wikipedia page has a list of middle age weapons that I could use as a guide when creating the weapons for my characters, this will make the weapons I create for my characters more realistic such as its proportion and shape. I can also work from these and make them fit the science fiction thematic that I’m going for.

This Wikipedia list has a bunch of modern age weapons which can help me create more realistic weapons for my characters. Of course I will be making them more science fiction.

I found an interesting article on Film forever that talks about what we could be wearing in the future if classic science films like blade runner got it right, this will help with the fashion that my characters wear boosted their appealing looks with what I have learnt.

The film Blade runner can give some inspiration for the fashion and technology that my characters could have, I was going to use the 2017 remake as well however it is not released until the 6th of October 2017 which will be after this project will be compete. However using Blade runner as a reference will help my character fit the theme of science fiction much better.

There is an article on Omed that details the history, current and future use of prosthetic limbs and the technology related to them, this might help me create realistic prosthetic limbs for the characters I aim to create.

Bibliography:

-Solarski, C. (2012). Drawing basics and video game art. New York: Watson-Guptill

-Manga University. (n.d.). HOW TO DRAW CLOTHES. Retrieved from Manga University: https://www.howtodrawmanga.com/pages/tutorial_clothes

-Multiple. (n.d.). Collections / Mirror’s Edge Catalyst Art. Retrieved from ArtStation: https://www.artstation.com/artist/fabienchristin/collections/71235

-Frederic Dauost [varied], ArtStation, https://www.artstation.com/artist/fredericdaoust23

-Gary Jamroz-Palma, [Varied], ArtStation, https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rPRJ

-Youtube. (n.d.). Draw with Jazza. Retrieved from Youtube.com: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHu2KNu6TtJ0p4hpSW7Yv7Q

-Kim, J. (Unknown, Unknown Unknown). Animation Podcast #52 – Character Design at Disney: The Jin Kim Interview. (T. a. Bancroft, Interviewer)

-Siblings, W. (Director). (1999). the Matrix [Motion Picture].

– Staff. (n.d.). How to design sci-fi weapons. Retrieved from Creative Bloq: http://www.creativebloq.com/digital-art/how-design-sci-fi-weapons-111413361

– Nameberry. (n.d.). Home. Retrieved from Nameberry.com: https://nameberry.com/

– Scholar, t. l. (n.d.). How to Create a Character Profile. Retrieved from Writers write: http://www.writerswrite.com/journal/jun98/how-to-create-a-character-profile-6986

How to create a character backstory that feels real. (n.d.). Retrieved from nownovel.com: http://www.nownovel.com/blog/talking-character-backstory/

– List of super powers, Wikipedia.org https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_superhuman_features_and_abilities_in_fiction#ESP

-Quentin Tarantino (Director, (2003), Kill Bill [Motion Picture]

-List of medieval weapons, Wikipedia.org https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_medieval_weapons

-List of weapons, Wikipedia.org https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lists_of_weapons

-Brushboost, Youtube, https://www.youtube.com/user/bluefley00/featured

-Draw with Jazza, Youtube, https://www.youtube.com/user/DrawWithJazza

-Keinan Lafferty, Youtube, https://www.youtube.com/user/KienanLafferty

-Nathalie Morris, 2014, what we’ll be wearing in the future (if classic sci-fi films got it right), Film Forever, http://www.bfi.org.uk/news-opinion/news-bfi/features/what-we-ll-wearing-future-classic-sci-fi-films

-Ridley Scott (Director), 1982, Blade runner, http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083658/

-Omed, Artificial limbs: Then, now and in the future, http://www.qmed.com/mpmn/gallery/artificial-limbs-then-now-and-future

TASK 2:

PRIMARY RESEARCH

For this task I am going to list the Primary research that I plan to conduct.

Observations: For this I can perform observational drawings of different subjects such as anatomy, materials, lighting from either/both from different photos and videos that I can collect via either taking them myself or by using websites such as (Pinterest, n.d.) And (youtube, n.d.), to do this, from these I can do studies and learn about these different subjects. Looking at art and magazines is another research method I intend to do in order to get a better idea for things like Fashion for my characters.

Surveys: I can conduct survey’s to see what people think about my project and my work to get ideas and feedback in order to improve my own work. I will do these surveys by creating a questionnaire of sorts and getting other’s to complete them via in person or over social media.

Experiments: I will be conducting experimental drawings in order to create my concept art throughout the entire production process of my project. These experiments will include me sketching in my sketchbooks in order to come up with ideas and concepts.

Feedback: I will ask for feedback from my lecturer’s and comment on it.

