This blog post is to showcase the work that I have completed during the 5th week of my extended project.

Week 5: [2.2]

What defines my project and background and what makes me want to do it?

My intention for this project is to explore areas of character design and its many principles. I aim to do this by creating 2 to 4 characters of my own in the form of character concepts, these characters are intended for an open-world, sandbox, Action RPG set in a false utopian island city in the near future (next 100 years at most), I have chosen to do this for my project because of my love of the characters from media I have consumed over the years, one character in particular is Cecil from Final Fantasy IV, his appearance and story really strikes a note with me. My love for these characters has made me wish to create my own for use in various media formats. I also thought that this Project was the perfect opportunity to develop my skills in these skills.

Produce a short review of what you know about your subject (based on your knowledge, previous work and literature review) – mind map

Identify key areas where you need to develop your knowledge

I have various areas that need improvement, In terms of my principles I have some knowledge of them but I can for certain improve in those areas, these areas are; Anatomy needs to be more solid, line art needs to be cleaner, Colour theory knowledge needs to be improved, as well as shape theory, drawing clothing and the folds they make, Lighting and shading methods need improvement and facial expressions are lacking in knowledge, the same goes for posing my characters.

I need to improve my skills with a graphics tablet, and my general drawing skills, I need to get an art style for the project as well. Drawing prosthetic body parts and high technology as well as weaponry. Super power effects.

Select suitable research methods and design research activities to be completed this week (update your progress tracker)

Practice with the graphics tablet, Case studies and observational drawings on clothing and their folds, shadows/lighting, anatomy, colour combinations and theories, and shape theories. Some experimentation using PhotoShop for drawing. Some studies on different materials is also a good idea.

Undertake research activities

Case Studies and observational drawings-

     Shadows/lighting

For shadows and light I started b drawing various spheres and boxes. I started by thinking of as many ways to shade as possible within these boxes.

 

For Lighting I used a camera and light to take pictures of different objects in order to study how the light translates onto the object. I used different levels of lighting for each object as well to see the differences, however the images don’t seem that much different.

Equipment; A wooden flexible crocodile, a kid’s rattle toy, an alien and cat toy, an empty water bottle, a rock, a tea towel, a salt and pepper grinder. The camera and the Light, and a box room.

I performed the studies by drawing the objects one by one. The results are as follows.

     Colour combinations and theories

For this I decided to dot down some lines and shapes on paper using different colours and tools in order to come up with different colour combinations.

I started with basic colouring pencils, I only had a choice of 12 colours to work with,

I began by seeing what colours go with black. Using pressure as well to starting by pushing hard to get a darker shade and losing the force to get a lighter shade. I made a mistake by using maroon twice that is what is crossed out.

I then used each of the brighter colours (not black, brown or maroon) to see what I could create.

I then used some Marker pens, I had a wider range of colours to choose from but I decided to opt for the brighter colours. I drew a line, and more slightly underneath to get some overlap just to get a rough idea of how the marker worked. I repeated this for each colour.

I then tried using a blender marker which failed because of my lack of knowledge.

 

Interpret research data

I first experimented with different shading techniques, I found that hatching, cross hatching and your general shading where the most effective forms of shading, I also had some fun experimenting with new techniques like the scribble and stipple techniques. However the time it takes to do this is inefficient.

From the light studies I noticed that the wooden and plastic materials tend to have a highlight shine on various small areas on the object, these where very small almost like a dot. The stone was barely noticeable however I still could see a similar shine as with the tea towel where it was lighter along the edge and quickly faded. The plastic bottle was much like the wood and plastic but because of its transparency it also had highlights on the inside of the bottle which was interesting.

The colour combinations and colouring techniques I found out that you can get much thicker and more prominent colours by applying more force to the tool, I also experimented with some promarkers which was a new experience, I could use pro markers instead of using computer software to colour however the range of colour was limited and it can be much cleaner when done with software. I was also unskilled in using the blender marker.

Organise and express your ideas – refine your project ideas based upon the knowledge acquired

I think I will be using the shading techniques that I acquired to use when creating my concept art, more specific hatching and cross hatching.

Plan further research

Anatomy:

Shape study;

Clothing study;

Practice with graphics tablet

For this I plan to just draw various different types of lines and shapes using a graphics tablet within PhotoShop.

Photoshop/other art programs

I plan to experiment with a drawing using different effects and tools to change the effect of my art.

